You Say You Want a Revolution…

I can’t stop listening to The Beatles. How cliche, right? There is something so important happening in this country right now and I have a lot of thoughts about it, a lot questions and a lot of feelings.

Maybe I should back up and explain who I am. My name is Terry, I’m a Junior at Bennington College where I study art as a social practice (this article explains what that means fairly well if you’re confused) — a combination of visual and performing arts, design, psychology and public action. As I continue to update this blog, I think you’ll see how relevant Occupy Wall Street is to everything I am studying and passionate about in the world. I’ve started this blog for two reasons; one, to have an outlet for my opinions and questions, and two, to inform people of whats going on. Going to a school with literally 2 cable TVs on campus, there is a little bit of a disconnect from the outside world. I’m here to relay information, to encourage people to get involved, and to ask people to challenge my opinions. Please do not hesitate to send me questions or disagreements, nothing excites me more than people with differing opinions from myself.

So, on Saturday October 15th, I will be leaving Bennington for a few days and moving into Zuccotti Park  (I would go indefinitely if I didn’t have a college degree to obtain). I have never been so excited about anything in my entire life. Until then, I’ll just be musing and reposting.

The biggest complaint I’ve been hearing about this movement is that we have no goals, no agenda, we are just a bunch of lazy free-loading* burn outs. Yeah, ok, sure, that’s why this movement has spread like wild fire across not only this country, but the globe. While, at the start of week 4, we might not have a concise plan of action yet, we’re working on it. There is literature being produced, a declaration was published, and politicians are starting to back us up. For instance, last night, Alan Grayson kicked some serious P.J. O’Rourke ass:

Get Involved. Get Educated. Get Excited.

More later.

*more on this “free-loading” nonsense later.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “You Say You Want a Revolution…

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

